A magical Christmas beta number: 1454

Firstly, thank you so much for the sweet and comforting comments last week! It’s been a strange week since the first blood test, where the result came back a bit inconclusive. At least according to the IVF clinic who regarded the amount of pregnancy hormone (hCG) in my blood too low to be a positive. Now a week later, there are no longer any doubts!! The proof is in the numbers.

Deep down, I didn’t really have a lot of doubt. I have been feeling pregnant for sure this week. But you never know if you can trust what you feel, so we were waiting nervously for the call and my heart was pounding as I picked up the phone. The nurse sounded quite cheerful and I held my breath. And then I heard those magic words: “I’m happy to tell you, that you are definitely pregnant, congratulations!” My hCG level had shot up from 42 mIU/ml last week to 1454 mIU/ml today (day 21 past retrieval). A perfect increase! It has basically doubled every 32-33 hours on average.

Finally we got to dance around and cry with joy! And we got to call family and friends who were waiting almost as anxiously as us and tell them the best Christmas news we have ever had. It is absolutely amazing and we are still trying to take it in. After almost 6 years of trying, I am pregnant. I can hardly believe it.

11 responses to “A magical Christmas beta number: 1454

  1. Oh my gosh! What amazing news! Merry Christmas, indeed!

  2. Congratulations!!! That is so exciting for you. I can only imagine how you were feeling when you got that phone call!

  3. Congratulations! so glad it turned around for you!! I can’t imagine how elated you must be!

  4. Congratulations! I offer the same wish for you that a friend offered to me – for an uneventful pregnancy!

  5. So beamingly happy for you!!!!!!!!! What fantastic, wonderful news! Praying for your continued health and happiness!

  6. Yay! I’m so happy for you! Congratulations and all the best wishes… we can be bump buddies xxx

  7. Congrats!!!!! How exciting!!!

  8. So exciting! Enjoy your early Christmas present!

  9. Congratulations! That is so exciting!

  10. I am delighted for you. This is just brilliant news. Take it really easy and enjoy every minute.

  11. Goodness Irene, somehow I missed your posts until your comment popped up on my blog. I’m so EXCITED for you! Yay yay yay! You will see that little flickering light on the scan soon enough, and it is EVERY bit as good as you’d hoped. Don’t worry, just celebrate where you are at right now. It is so nice to hear someone else get great christmas news. I completely understand the anxiety after two weeks of not sleeping, but you will be fine. My sister says as a mother, you’re just always holding your breath for the next thing, even when they’re all grown up. So I guess IVF is good training!

    Congrats congrats congrats.

Leave a Reply

