Seeing a tiny little heart beating

It was amazing. Indescribable. By now I have experienced a lot of ultra sounds, but this one was out of this world. In the best possible way! There on the screen we saw the blinks indicating that a tiny heart is beating away at 156 bpm. It is really happening. Our baby is growing and developing inside me. It’s a miracle, nothing less. The miracle of life.

I’m 8 weeks pregnant today, so we still have a while to go before we reach those 12 weeks. But seeing a heart beat gives us so much more confidence to keep believing and trusting that everything will be fine.

It also means that we are slowly starting to transition out of this liminal state we have been stuck in – as I have written about in previous posts (Tagged with Infertility & Embracing the liminal space). It has felt like life was on pause for a long time. Now it’s moving forward again. With every day, every week that passes we are entering a new stage in life. That of expecting parents. I can’t even express how thankful I am!

7 responses to “Seeing a tiny little heart beating

  1. Hooray!!! I am eight weeks today too!

    It is an amazing moment seeing that heartbeat. I can’t wait til our first visit with the ob who will hopefully scan so I get to see it again . Congratulations guys. Very pleased for you .

    • Yes I know, we had the egg retrieval on the same day :-). Amazing that we both got pregnant! We have a scan again in 3 weeks and I also can’t wait to get to see again.
      How are you doing with the nausea etc.? Mine is relentless and making it difficult getting food down and keeping it there… The IVF clinic gave me some pills for it, but I feel reluctant to take medicine even though they said it’s safe.

  2. I am so happy for you 🙂 the heartbeat really makes it feel real in a way nothing else does, doesn’t it. Hope you keep doing well.

  3. Yahoo! Eight weeks…almost nine weeks now. So excited for you….I can totally understand the life moving on bit! Happiness….

  4. Congratulations on the heartbeat! Such an amazing moment, and I think espec for women who have had to deal with IF, after a long haul it can feel so surreal. Hope the nausea is easing up xx

  5. I was just checking back in and what did i miss?! Congrats!! So good to read about this!

Leave a Reply

